Operation Build A Bra:

image

image

image

image

My plan to make my boobies happy one stitch at a time. 🙂

I dismantled an old bra that didn’t have the greatest fit. My hopes are with a little tweaking here and there I can build a bra that will end my expensive trips to layne bryant. Foreverrrrrr lol

What I’ve done so far:

Cut bra in half *cut on fold when sewing*

Detached strap from front bra cup (sewn down w zigzag stitch)

Removed underwire (3/8″ wide 13″ long covered and curved)

Flipped strap inside out to remove facing/padding

Detached side/back piece from cup (1/4″ SA)

Detached strap from back (strap has d ring, back side is slipped through d-ring and sewn down with zigzag stitch)

Remove clasp from end of back piece (attached with zigzag)

Elastic attached to underarm (7.5″), side back( 4.5″), bottom edge (14.5) *cut 2 pieces of underarm and side back piece* *cut bottom band on fold*

Next up…
Cut out “pattern”
Cut out fabric (using scraps of knit)
Sew baby sew!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladybean73
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 09:55:46

    Ooh this sounds both exciting and complicated!! Good luck and I’ll be looking forward to a post about results!! Go Girl!

    Reply

  2. buttahflychronicles
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 10:19:58

    Wow. This post intimidats me, lol. How do you plan on improving on the fact that the original bra didn’t fit great in the first place?

    I love my Layne Bryant bras and will pay them whatever they ask, lol.

    Reply

  3. Sheena
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 14:42:21

    Good Luck.
    After while, you are going to need a boutique to start selling your own clothing and accessories.

    Reply

  4. Trish
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 18:57:40

    I swear you’re the best seamstress I’ve ever came across! I can’t wait to see how the bra turns out.

    Reply

  5. bayoucreole
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 06:59:52

    I can’t wait to see the results! I’ve never seen a person make a bra before. *sigh* I want your skills.. I’d never shop again 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

