Wanna know what I’m Super Proud of?

My 1st knit sock ever!!!!

 

I will admit I’ve been intimdated (read scared as hell) about knitting socks. Was even going to suck it up and pay $45 to take a sock class. Well I’m so glad I didn’t!!

 I found this book (pic below) in Joann’s for $5. Skimmed through the intructions seems straight forward. I mean, I do pretty reading for comprehension 🙂 PLUS the pictures that accompanied the instructions seem CLEAR. Figured it was worth the shot. And look what I made! I cast on Friday night and finished Monday night (could’ve finished sooner but I didn’t work on it consistently).

 

 Knit on size 3 dpn and I did some magic looping (thx adrienne and utube). The yarn is Premier Serenity sock yarn in Sapphire

 

 

are they perfect? NERP!  but they are a major success in my book!! Now to do the other one lol

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtsofsoutherngal
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 13:15:52

    LOL @ doing the other one.

    Reply

  2. Toni
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 13:40:52

    Congratulations! It looks good. Knitting is intimidating to me already, but knitting socks? Wow!

    Reply

  3. adrienne
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 13:52:47

    WOOHOO! “IT” looks good lol.

    That was one of my only knitting goals this year lol. Maybe I can still do it…MAYBE lol.

    Reply

  4. Dana
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 13:57:39

    Those are tooooooooooo cute! I wished I knew how to knit. Lit your candle and it smellled soooooooooooooooooo good! You gotta teach me to make candles and soap! LOL

    Reply

  5. ladybean73
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 14:07:56

    Congrats on popping your sock-cherry!! Once you’ve got the basic sock down, you can go from there. I always like to have a pair of socks going because it’s an easy, portable knit. And yay for doing it on the magic loop! That’s actually the first way I knit socks too. I was too intimidated by DPNs. Go figure.

    Reply

  6. Patricia Richardson
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 14:30:38

    Great job on your sock Patrice. I, like you, have been too intimidated to try sock knitting (even though I have lots of sock yarn). I also have been thinking about taking a class instead of just trying it on my own. I think I have that book or a similar one (I know it’s Paton and it’s a sock book). OK, I’m encouraged by your success; my New Year’s resolution is to buckle down and do this. If I fail, I can always pay and take the class, right??? Thanks for the post.

    Reply

  7. Ki
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 17:02:42

    LOL @ only one sock! I though you had completed both. Okay, next up on etsy and sale table…Socks by PAJ..can you hear me cha ching! Very nice work chic

    Reply

  8. sheila
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 17:34:36

    Congrats and pretty colorway.

    Reply

  9. Ms. Behaving
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 21:20:00

    Cool socks…I want a pair!!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. kelic
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 22:45:46

    I’m side-eyeing you thinking of coming off $45 dollars to learn how to knit a sock…

    Reply

  11. Nik
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 14:05:00

    OMG you’re awesome! You know what? sock yarn is a gateway drug.

    Reply

  12. Cynta
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 14:07:22

    good job on your one sock…lol

    Reply

  13. SincerelyGo
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 03:43:54

    Those look super cozy! Good job!

    Sincerely,

    Go

    Reply

  14. kellyinaday
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 14:10:09

    They lookin’ perfect to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

