Water for Elephants

a review::

51VBR50NPRL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

Water for Elephants is the story of Jacob’s life with this circus. Sara Gruen spares no detail in chronicling the squalid, filthy, brutish circumstances in which he finds himself. The animals are mangy, underfed or fed rotten food, and abused. Jacob, once it becomes known that he has veterinary skills, is put in charge of the “menagerie” and all its ills. Uncle Al, the circus impresario, is a self-serving, venal creep who slaps people around because he can. August, the animal trainer, is a certified paranoid schizophrenic whose occasional flights into madness and brutality often have Jacob as their object. Jacob is the only person in the book who has a handle on a moral compass and as his reward he spends most of the novel beaten, broken, concussed, bleeding, swollen and hungover. He is the self-appointed Protector of the Downtrodden, and… he falls in love with Marlena, crazy August’s wife. Not his best idea.

the last interview I went on the lady who interviewed me gave me this book and invited me to her book club.

I enjoyed this book soooo much!! I laughed OUT LOUD numerous times while reading this book. Once at 3 in the morning and woke Ian up. (oops) lol

Great read! It was a welcomed break from the urban novella.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adrienne
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 04:46:20

    I’m picking up my copy today based on your recommendation lol.

    Reply

  2. Toni
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 06:36:10

    Wow, you read that fast! A lot of my customers who are in book clubs read this book and they really liked it. Glad you did, too!

    Reply

  3. kelic
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 07:22:39

    I need to pick up a good book and read…reading gives me inspiration…it allows my mind to just run free.

    Might have to try this one out.

    Is it a quick read?

    Reply

  4. thoughtsofsoutherngal
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 13:43:47

    Putting this on my book list. Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Kim
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 16:58:12

    We read this in my book club. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

