Watch Out Ralph Lauren

I’ve made my first polo!! Whew lol

Photobucket

This is my 2nd pair of jeans. This pair McCall’s 5894ย  is a better fit than the last pair I made.

Photobucket

I don’t have much booty but I have a lil bit of hips ๐Ÿ˜‰

PhotobucketI found the metal Dungaree Button @ wal-mart, they were like 6 in a pack for $2. I think they add a more finished look to the denim. Makes them look more ‘professional. IMO

I added an 1.5″ in length, I like having the option of wearing flats (cuff the leg once) or wedges(leave them hanging).

Photobucket

All the top stitching with the heavy “jean thread” had me ready to toss my machine. I free handed the “p” on the back pocket.ย  I think it looks good and adds a little something extra. ๐Ÿ™‚

Photobucket

The Polo style shirt is Kwik Sew 3059.ย  VERY EASY!!!

In the future, meaning when I get an embroidery machine I am going to add some sort ofย  symbol (like the polo horse). Maybe a Fleur De Lis OR a Dragonfly OR a Peacock feather. lol Don’t steal my idea ๐Ÿ˜‰

Photobucket

I used a cotton interlock. Love working with cotton… Slippery fabrics can bite it! lol

(this is the true color of the shirt… more kelly green than sage)

I opted not to add the button/holes bc I have a polo I bought from old navy recently that doesn’t have them.

And I added 1.5″ of length. I don’t like when my belly shows because I raise my arm to say hi. lol

Photobucket

I’ve been a polo style girl FOREVER! Nothing like a polo style shirt to put a smile on my face. Easy to wear and coordinate with most anything and COMFY to boot. Now that I can make my own I’ll stay off of Marshall’s racks looking for the $12.99 clearance polo’s lol.

PhotobucketAnd a parting view. lol

Hope you’re having a GREAT week ๐Ÿ™‚

*** Job Hunt Report::: So far nothing concrete, still putting in apps all over***

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adriennenixon
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 19:55:05

    Everything looks great!! I don’t do a lot of polo style shirts but I am going to pick that one up for when I need a more casual look *ahem* lol

    Great job chicka!

    Reply

  2. Carolyn
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 20:59:49

    Well I’m glad to see that you are making good use of your time at home! Loves the top and the jeans! You know you should put that “P” on everything…it’s called branding! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Toni
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 21:22:45

    Cute top! And you know how I feel about your topstitching skills! Top of the line!

    Reply

  4. Cee
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 21:36:14

    Watch out, Seven jeans. Here comes Patrice. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  5. urbanknitrix
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 06:18:30

    Hold up is that last pic a arse shot? Everything looks great.

    Reply

  6. kiandra
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 10:43:17

    you better go girl!!

    shut up! you did the dang on thing! i wish i would/could make some jeans that nice! instead i’m still rocking the one pair i got that fit good from like ’05 or ’06!

    love the p on the assets…and the polo looks so professional!

    Reply

  7. Erica B.
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 10:47:11

    They both look great! Love the shirt. I’m about to start golf lessons and I need shirts like that! I’m going to have to pick up that pattern.

    Reply

  8. Charmy
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 11:14:51

    Polo and jeans! Look at you! I’ll join the sewing movement soon. Found some easy patterns for Maya. Love the “P” on the back pocket!

    Reply

  9. thoughtsofsoutherngal
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 12:36:32

    Nice!

    LOL @ the last shot. Please save that for Ian! lol

    Reply

  10. Jenifer
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 14:33:39

    They both look fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  11. Jakki
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 16:45:29

    No you did NOT sew a pair of jeans??? I bow before you.

    Good luck on the job hunt

    Reply

  12. gold
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 17:55:26

    Girl you are doing it up with your sewing!!Them jeans are awesome!! That polo looks like you bought it from the store!

    Reply

  13. AR Gal
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 18:25:57

    I’m with gold, that looks store bought!! Love the hand-stitched logo on the back pocket. Get it Patrice!!!

    I’m gone have to get me one of those things they call a sewing machine.

    Reply

  14. Keli
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 19:24:18

    Girl…you’re making polos…man…we need to come up with a logo and sell dem mugs…

    I will give you a lil bit of my booty…ummm…sike! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  15. aunaptural
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 22:25:36

    Great job! Your outfit in this post is my go-to ensemble all year long. Usually, I add a layer underneath in a contrasting color for interest (long-sleeve tees in the winter and tank tops in warmer weather).

    Reply

  16. Cassandra
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 22:51:26

    Great pieces! You did a terrific job! I like the P on your jeans. It’s like the reverse of the LaVerne L she always wore on her tops you know! LOL! I think that should be your logo!

    Booty shot cracked me up! Watch out America’s Next Top Model! Patrice is clowning! LOL!

    Good Luck with your job search!

    Reply

  17. dmac
    Jun 25, 2009 @ 11:41:26

    You can really sew! Everything looks great…I almost want to unpacke the machine I bought Fall 2007.

    Reply

  18. sheila
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:23:58

    Dayummmmmmm sista-friend you worked those garments and the jeans are off the hook and to boot personalized…

    Reply

  19. KI
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 08:17:31

    Go head!!! Do the damn thing, ma!

    Reply

  20. buttahflychronicles
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 10:05:04

    Okay, my favorite part is the pocket P just because you free handed it. Very cool. That polo shirt doesn’t look very easy to me, although I’m not going to be able to resist trying.

    Reply

  21. LB
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 10:36:35

    I love the P…my vote is for the fleur de lis!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

