charity starts at home…

Those of you who follow me on twitter know that one of my team members apartment caught fire last week. She has 4 kids ages 14-7 and is pregnant with a baby girl due april 30th.

I got a chance to talk to her this afternoon and she confirmed that she lost everything. A flyer is circulating the office asking for donations. And she is also working with local agencies to find new housing.

My heart aches for her.

After Katrina, I recall Ian and I saying to each other how grateful we were that we didn’t have to start over with kids in tow. My team member is in great spirits and while ill continue to say a prayer for her… we are going to do our part.

2 bags of shirts/pants/jackets/skirts/dresses a few purses and shoes. Its all clean and neatly folded, ready for me to make the 1st delivery.

Ian told me to ask her if she wants the bed and dresser in our guest room. If she does, we’ll arrange delivery of that after she relocates.

Believe me when I tell you, ian and I don’t have it LIKE THAT, but we know first hand what its like to have NOTHING. We can’t afford to go out and buy a bunch of stuff. But we’re giving from our heart and everything I’ve bagged for her is in good condition.

Photobucket

Also, any Saint Louisans reading this blog and feeling inclined to give email me at pajnstl@gmail.com . I will gladly meet you wherever (w/ ian) to pick it up and make sure she gets it. She needs EVERYTHING!

Thanks

*tomorrow I’ll be back to my nonsense*

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adrienne
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 04:32:59

    It’s a wonderful thing to give and not expect anything in return. You guys will be blessed a hundred times over.

    Reply

  2. Cassandra
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 05:40:20

    Your heart and spirit are full of love and it won’t be forgotten in the eyes of God.

    Reply

  3. urbanknitrix
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 06:54:08

    Good for you and Ian. Your helping in more ways than one.

    Reply

  4. tiltedhalo
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 09:18:50

    How very sad. 😦 My prayers go out to the family. How selfless of you and Ian. You two have such kind hearts and beautiful spirits.

    Reply

  5. Mssula
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 10:52:33

    Your heart is so pure and you are so good natured that it’s no wonder God keeps blessing you with His graces.

    My heart and prayers go out to your coworker and my thanks go to you and Ian.

    Take care.

    Reply

  6. buttahflychronicles
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 11:02:04

    Wish I was closer.

    Reply

  7. southerngal
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 12:05:00

    I hate to hear things like that. It can happen to anyone.

    Reply

  8. Pinky Purls
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 14:54:19

    that is so unfortunate. if i had anything i would but i an’t got shit worth giving away! but i’ll see what i got… what does she have like age of boys and the girls… and what is she having? i don’t have any infant stuff though. but i can make recieveing blankets, diaper bag… u know me!

    Reply

  9. Keli
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 15:52:55

    Sad news…glad to know that she and her family were not harmed physically. Praying that she gets the help she needs…I cannot imagine.

    Reply

  10. Ms. Behaving
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 16:35:28

    It’s unfortunate what happened with your friend and a blessing that she and her family walked away from it with their lives.

    I just did some spring cleaning last night. [My little man is 8 years old and has quite a few things he can no longer fit.]

    Please let me know if she has any little boys who might be able to fit a size eight. If so, I’d be glad to mail the things out to you this weekend.

    Reply

  11. AR Gal
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 09:24:54

    This reality check saddens me but it also makes me happy to know there is still good in the world. You and Ian rock!

    Reply

  12. lyfesimplified
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 09:18:48

    Well that is awfully nice of you guys!

    Go

    Reply

  13. gold
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 09:20:01

    You will be blessed for what you are doing. I will be praying also.

    Reply

  14. nan
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 16:28:20

    I’ve got a kitchen table in the basement w/3 chairs that match. It’s not the best but I need to get rid of it. I also have a bookcase if she needs it. And I have a dresser.

    Let me know. Do I know her??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

