Chocolate and Burnt Orange (Pic heavy)

After I posted, I notice everything was chocolate and burnt orange… guess I was in some sort of mood.. Anyway!

I made a “shower towel” (i don’t know what to really call it) for Ian and used the zigzag stitch on the sewing machine to put his initials on it and velcro to secure it around his waist.
I made this “diaper bag” for a co-worker, the print is little bitty tigers and elephants. I stitched several pockets so she could stash baby stuff.

This is the rest of the co-workers baby gift. I borrowed a page from Lovely over at That’s Sew Live on the cloth diapers, then i made a couple bibs. I used magnets for the closure.

Now here’s my sewing DISASTER. I started Simplicity 4403 view A with the intents of taking my time and doing it right, no shortcuts. One day I cut the fabric and lining, next day I interfaced all the pieces, thinking I could just FLOW when I started sewing. The jacket you see above has pins securing the tabs in place.

This is what brought my coat to a screeching halt! This stupid ass interfacing turned the 2 front panels and the front facings into some bullshit I could NOT sew through!! So I figure out a way to attach the 2 front panels by sewing with the interfacing along the feeder. Unfortunately when it was time to attach the front panels to the facings, that didn’t work. FUCK! So I broke out the needle and thread figuring I’ll hand stitch it… That idea was short-lived. THEN I was like let me go see if they still have it at the store then I’ll replace them. NO LUCK! Talk about frustration. I’ll try the pattern again with the RIGHT kind of interfacing!

And finally something that worked out as planned….
I made this hat, scarf and fingerless glove set by using this knit fabric I found that wasn’t enough to make anything else with (less than a yard). After making mine and seeing that it was indeed wearable, I made my BeFF Stacey a hat and scarf set.
20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tenacious
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 02:38:00

    Yeeahhh….so I can gone ‘head and put my order in right?

    I love the towels…although I have a feeling those are the good “decorations” towels…you know, the ones I know B will use in a heart beat when I’m not around 🙂

    Reply

  2. Adrienne
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 02:41:00

    It’s good you learned from your mistakes girl! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tenacious
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 02:55:00

    @ Paj

    You will NOT kill me for the ’08 ok?
    …But I swear I think Ian and B are seperated at birth fraternal twins…I’m like this is not community towel time honey…he’s like…wha? I mean they all go into the same washing machine *sigh* lol

    email me @ e_lova83@hotmail.com

    Reply

  4. Erica B.
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 03:29:00

    Awww… I hate disasters. LOL Were you using the right size needle? Emma One Sock has some great fabric guides here: http://emmaonesock.com/guides/index.asp

    Also, I was looking at your collar. A lot of patterns do not allow for “turn of cloth”. This explains that: http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00208.asp.

    Reply

  5. alison
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 03:36:00

    love love love the baby gift stuff! you’re so creative. i’m jealous. :o)

    Reply

  6. dejanae
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 04:57:00

    when ima get me something?
    i could use some monogrammed towels too
    wanna live like the rick folk

    Reply

  7. Ms. Lee
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 05:26:00

    I’ve got a baby shower coming up…holla at your girl, P!!!

    Reply

  8. Torrance Stephens bka All-Mi-T
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 06:38:00

    u know those are throwback old school colors. keep it up for the new year

    Reply

  9. Virtuous
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 11:25:00

    Gurl I love the baby set you made!! Too cute!!!

    And I was like HEY!! That is my hat/scarf set!!! :oD

    Gurl I didn’t realized you actually MADE it!!! Nice work! And where is my fingerless gloves?!? LOL

    Thanks again for my gift!!

    Reply

  10. gold
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 12:41:00

    We all make mistakes and learn from them.Loving the hat,scraf,and fingerless gloves!!

    Reply

  11. Kim
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 13:41:00

    Girl I didn’t understand a thing you said about that pattern. Remember I don’t sew. I just know it didn’t turn out right. Sorry about that.

    Love the monogram towels. That wouldn’t go far in my house. My dh is just a step above cro-magnum when it comes to nice things like that.

    Cute baby gifts. Love the scarf/hat/gloves set. Where can I put in my request for a set? I must have the gloves.

    Reply

  12. Carmell
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 13:42:00

    gurl look at you working it out over there!!!! see the coat would have been to much for me!!!

    Reply

  13. Cas...
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 14:04:00

    You are on a roll girl! Looky at Cooky!LOL! I love it all. Remember my motto “There is no great loss without some small gain”. You have now learned something about interfacing and Erica B. has sent you some nice links to learn more. So over all you are doing great.

    Keep it up!

    Reply

  14. ebony
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 16:27:00

    I’m loving the diaper bag!

    Reply

  15. Keli
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 19:58:00

    The hat, scarf, and gloves are too cute.

    The baby showers gifts were a good idea…I wish I could sew…I have a shower to attend next weekend.

    Shower towel…how manly, lol.

    Reply

  16. Ms. Behaving
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 05:58:00

    Ummm…I’mma need you to post an order form ASAP!!!

    Now that my grandbaby is here it would be nice to have some stuff custom made [for the both of us]. 🙂

    Great stuff you got goin’ on over here P. Keep on keepin’ on!!

    Reply

  17. mp1 v.8.0
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 15:58:00

    I tried to read the commentary, but you went off talking about stuff that I’m clueless about (feeders and such).

    But I’m digging the stuff. I know it’s a recurring statement from me, but you really are talented

    Reply

  18. The Goddess
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 19:24:00

    Uh, me too. I need to put my order in right with Tenacious!!!

    I think I need to take up sewing in 08, but something tells me all my projects will be disasters.

    I love the burnt orange so you picked a good color to go crazy with and the hat, scarf and gloves…. How cute!!!! I want a set.

    Reply

  19. del
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 17:09:00

    That sucks about the jacket ’cause the color is hot. Oh well…but you learned something so that’s good.

    Everything else came out great, especially the diaper bag. I love cute bags like that to schlep around all that baby stuff.

    Reply

  20. Sheila
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 22:00:00

    Great FOs and sorry about the jacket. I’m totally diggin’ that diaper bag, I wouldn’t mind having one to carry my craft paraphernalia, minus the tigers and bears…lol. What pattern did you use for the hat/scarf set.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

