Concerts, Scarves,& Duct Tape

Pics from the Chrisette Michele/Musiq Soulchild Concert and Fireworks

Scarves: The Blue and Tan one was done free hand (no pattern), The Purple is the scarf part of the Adult Bonnet from Knit2together.


Since we are on a budget and I’ve been wanting a dress form AND I found a tutorial online… I recruited Ian and we created a dress form from duct tape.

Everything was going fine until I realized I had to potty!!! LOL So please remember to go BEFORE you start taping yourself!

Not quite wordless but, definitely not a MOTORMOUTH today! LOL

Enjoy the rest of your day. I’m going check on my white beans!!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Virtuous
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 19:42:00

    Great quick knits!

    TOO funny at duct tape dress form!
    I thought I heard of everything! :oD

    Enjoy your Sunday!

    Reply

  2. Organized Noise
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 20:33:00

    I saw Musiq Soulchild earlier this summer. He puts on a good show. Crisette Michele is going to be performing in NYC later this month. I’m gonna try to see her. Hope her stage show is as good as her CD.

    Reply

  3. Keli
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 22:52:00

    Duct tape to make a dress form…how did you ever think of that?

    Hope you enjoyed the show,and your scarf looks cute. btw, what is a bonnet scarf?

    Reply

  4. Cas...
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 23:12:00

    I would like to try the dress form for myself. That’s a fabulous idea! Please share your internet link!

    Your knitted projects are too cute. You did a great job.

    Reply

  5. Sheila
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 00:21:00

    I love Musiq, his song Teach Me was labeled No. 1 on 98.7 Hit List. Oh no you didn’t… but your dress form came out perfect. I need to do that, b/c I am tired of trying on things a dozen or more times… and the 2 mannequins I have are size 4… and you know I’m not that size… matter of fact its not even my ring size…lol. Your popping out project like snap pop & crackle… great FOs.

    Reply

  6. Erica B.
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 00:52:00

    I made one of those dressforms last year… it was soooo hot in that thing, I thought I was going to die! I had a big ol jug of ice water and a long straw! LOL

    Reply

  7. PAJNSTL
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 01:08:00

    ~ Virtuous… you know darn well you can find almost anything on the web. :~p

    ~ Org Noise… You will enjoy the show. If nothing else the girl can sang!

    ~Keli… the bonnet scarf is a scarf with a hood ie attached to it. Thx

    ~ Thx Cas… I changed the color of the link so folks can see it better. Click tutorial!

    ~ Ms. Shiela… Go for it!… I used 3 55yd rolls of duct tape. Walmart Brand. Told ya I was working even though I wasn’t posting 🙂 LOL

    ~ Erica… Seeing as I had to tinkle… last thing I was thinking was water… but you ain’t neva lie, that thing is hot!

    Reply

  8. Adrienne
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 04:20:00

    Glad you had fun! Ive seen a ton of people making those forms!! I know you were hot! LOL

    Reply

  9. Carmell
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 12:33:00

    Ooooo! i am making me one of those this weekend when hubby can help me! thanks for the link!

    i have never worn a scarf… i don’t know why i don’t wear them. and neither do the kids. but thats a cute little one. looks soft.

    Reply

  10. KimT
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 14:55:00

    Love the dress form idea. They are super expensive so this is a great way to go.

    THanks for popping over to my blog!

    Reply

  11. Sheila
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 14:59:00

    I printed out the tutorial for the duct tape dress form and going to pick-up my duct tape tonight… now I need to gently tell dh about helping me… mind you he already thinks I’m a 740 (code name for eccentric…lol).

    Reply

  12. Honey-Libra
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 16:23:00

    Cute scarf..

    Hopefully the tape didnt hurt coming off LOL

    Reply

  13. Ms. Lee
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 17:01:00

    Girl, u and the duct tape? LMAO! Necessity is the mother of invention. Feelin’ the improv! LOL.

    Question…How do you get out of it?!

    Reply

  14. African Kelli
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 21:04:00

    The thought of being in a duct tape dress and then realizing I have to go to the bathroom is absolutely terrifying!

    Reply

  15. Mahogany Brown
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 14:35:00

    You and hubby are really just TOO CUTE togehter. That dress form looks like it was hot and it is trully one of the most interesting things I’ve ever seen lol.

    Reply

  16. Mary Sarah
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 15:35:00

    Hi! Just found your blog! My DIL made this kind of dress form a couple of months ago. Unfortunately I found out about it the morning after I arrived. I usually fly in late at night and let myself in. I ran into the thing and it scared the “youknowwhat” out of me! lol!!!

    Reply

  17. Mary Sarah
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 15:38:00

    I’m back! St Louis, MO! Way Cool! I grew up in Fulton, MO and am always in and out of St. Louis. Now I’m homesick. It’s so great to find you!

    Reply

  18. Kamika
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 00:12:00

    Hilarious! I’ve never seen a duct tape dressform although I have seen it done to create an impromptu pattern. Great idea! My dressform seems to be for the shorter waistless version of myself. I had to put a bra on her just to make her lose 10lbs. Good looking out!

    Reply

  19. brwn_eyes_brwngirl
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 18:49:00

    I love you pj…I am so going to make my own dress form this weekend…

    yay…I’m excited..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

