Capris and a Tee

8hrs worth of music in my mediaplayer’s playlist, material already cut, sewing machine ready to go and voila! Who knew I could crank out a shirt and Capri’s in a ‘work day’!

I started out using a pattern but got frustrated… So I used a shirt from my closet as a guide. LOL If I had a dress form BELIEVE me, I would be a draping queen! OKAY!!! It’s frustrating for me to use patterns because, I do NOT have a typical shape. Cutting the top 50 sizes(lol I’m exaggerating) too big to accommodate the “girls”, then taking it in in the waist… ughhh just shoot me already! LMAO

Anywhoo… using my shirt as a guide, I tweaked the sleeves, and initially was going to make a belt… Guess what?! The music stopped, and the belt wasn’t done. SOoooo I improvised.. Ribbon anyone?! LOL Yes YES, I always have spools of ribbon, so I cut a link and said photo shoot time!
LOL


I had a pair of Capri’s that I’d worn to DEATH, so I used a seam ripper and pulled them apart and used the pieces as my pattern.

I found this linen-look material at Jo-Ann’s I want to say I paid $4 and some change for 2 yrds. $5 for a pair of linen Capri’s. Not bad!!!

The seam ripper became my best friend when it came time to sew the crotch! Geesh!!! It took me 2 tries to get to what you see in the picture.

~ Me and the hubby 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Virtuous
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 02:46:00

    Very cute outfit!! Guess I know what you did for the 4th of July! :oD

    Girl I love that butterfly on your wall!

    Good job on the improvising!! You make it work girl! It looks good!

    Reply

  2. Sheila
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 04:19:00

    Perfect outfit for July 4th… I’m sure you worked it.

    Reply

  3. "PoP"
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 12:11:00

    That fit is a beast!!!
    Great job!!!! U do some awesome work. I love how u tapping into all of ur talents. Im just starting to do the same.
    You and the “Houseband” look good together. Yall look like true lovebirds. Black love is the shit!!

    Lol. U look like a preteen on myspace taking pics of urself in the mirror. LMAO!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Erica B.
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 15:29:00

    Cute outfit and the fit is really good! Girl, you are coming along with the sewing!

    Reply

  5. PAJNSTL
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 21:15:00

    look atcha V! peeping out the butterfly! 🙂

    Shiela, I wore it to work today… Got a lot of compliments. I didn’t tell anyone I made it! I feel special… Or I AM special… either way. LOL

    POP I know you didnt just call me a preteen! LOL I got yo pre-teen 😛
    And yes Black Love is the shit!

    Thx Erica… I’m trying to be like you 😉

    Reply

  6. Kamika
    Jul 08, 2007 @ 02:59:00

    Copying what you already have is basic sewing 101! The blue is very pretty. You did a great job!

    Reply

  7. KimT
    Jul 08, 2007 @ 03:37:00

    great outfit!

    Reply

  8. Robyn
    Jul 08, 2007 @ 22:35:00

    I think your outfit is great! I’m working myself up to full fledged outfits, lol. :0)

    Reply

  9. PAJNSTL
    Jul 09, 2007 @ 14:02:00

    Kamika,Thx @ sewing 101… Now I don’t feel like I cheated! LOL

    Thank you KimT and Robyn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

