My 1st dress

This is my version of B5038, I am very top heavy, but I think I did a very good job seeing as this is the 1st dress I’ve made, or put on that fits! LOL

There are a few imperfections that I will be sure to fix when I make another, but overall it turned out as I expected. (excuse that bra strap, I will NOT be wearing this bra with this dress, and excuse the broom & dustpan :p)

I do think that I will do 100x better when I get a dress form. When I say I had a TIME trying to fit myself, while avoiding stick pins. Bay-BEY!


I haven’t worn it out yet because it’s been raining like crazy!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica B.
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 03:18:00

    I think you did a really good job fitting yourself. When you get your dressform, here is a great tutorial on how to make it look more like you: http://216.25.11.234/familyphotos/sewing/dressform/index.html

    Reply

  2. Tenacious
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 03:33:00

    I think you did a great job!

    When you’re ready to Fed ex over some of the breasts…just let me know mkay 🙂

    @ Paj

    That’s the first thing I noticed about the tribute *besides Gladys wig*….I was too heated!!

    Reply

  3. Virtuous
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 03:41:00

    The dress looks great! Perfect for the summer! Great job on your 1st dress!

    I also like the embrodiery (sp) on the fabric. We are going to have to do a quick 101 on how to take close up pics with your digi cam! ;o)

    Reply

  4. Adrienne
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 04:08:00

    Dressforms are a GODSEND!!!!! BEST THING EVER! Congrats on your first dress!

    Reply

  5. PoP
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 11:49:00

    Great job. Is that really ur first dress? Cause it is nice. Looks like u and ur husband bout to stop going to the mall for clothes. Must be nice. Keep it up!
    ps Pay what u owe Santa!!!!! lmao!
    I know, that had nothing to do with ur dress. Sorry.
    Anyway, good job!

    Reply

  6. Sheila
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 12:48:00

    Like everyone said.. you did a great job on your summer dress… and I like the embroidery too.

    Reply

  7. Mahogany Brown
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 14:49:00

    I can’t see the pics cuz I’m at work, but I’m sure it looks fab! I wanna learn to sew!

    Reply

  8. PAJNSTL
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 14:55:00

    Ms. Erica… I used that FBA link you sent me on this one. Thx for all the cool links!

    LOL Tenacious.. Ms Lady just know that if it was at all possible, I’d be headed your way to personally deliver you some boobage.

    Virtuous… I’m a tell Ian what you said about his picture taking skills. LMAO 😛

    Adrienne… I can’t wait to get one!! I’ve already started looking at that budget!

    Pop… what’s this blasphemous thing you speak of?! No mall clothes!!! OH the HORROR!! LMAO

    Thank you Ms. Sheila!!

    Reply

  9. Keli
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 21:22:00

    Look at you…a knitter and now a candle and dress maker! Get your game tight, because I need a good seamstress in my life.

    Reply

  10. Bev Love
    Jun 30, 2007 @ 21:27:00

    Very nice. Really pretty fabric, looks good on you.

    Reply

  11. PAJNSTL
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 14:15:00

    @MahoghanyB.. Don’t you just hate workplace filters! lol Thx

    Keli… Don’t we all, myself included :p

    Bevlov… Thx a bunch! 🙂

    Reply

  12. ebz
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 20:27:00

    Man my dress didnt come out NOTHING like it was supposed to. I took my sewing machine back. I still have needles and pens and tracing paper, and bobbins and chalk pencils and stuff that Im never gonna use.

    I was so embarrassed of my dress I didnt even post pics.

    Your came out really good to be the first one. Mine looked like an explosive science project from a 2nd grader. 😦

    Oh well.

    Happy Sunday!

    Reply

  13. PAJNSTL
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 05:24:00

    ebz… You are CRAZY! LMAO @ explosive science project

    Reply

Leave a Reply

